Leadership Group & Advisory Council

Leadership Group

BRSI’s leadership group consists of active volunteers and advisors to BRSI on development of its projects and programs.

Brandee Boggs, Advisor, Collaborations

Sue Brown, Sustainable Tourism Advisor

Steve CochranPrincipal

Charlie Coggeshall, Development and Finance Advisor

Rebecca EfroymsonSpecial Advisor, Natural Environment

 William Hargrove, Senior Science Advisor

Tom Hatley, Special Advisor, Rural Development

Drew Kitt, Special Advisor, Renewable Energy

Russ MartinCo-Chair Advisory Council

Ed Mayer, Sustainable Tourism Advisor

Jon Snover, Senior Advisor, Sustainability

Sherry VaughanAdministrative Assistant

Kevin Wilson, Special Assistant to the Executive Director

Noah Wilson, Advisor of Information Technology

Susan WeidmannSustainable Tourism Advisor

Advisory Council

The Advisory Council provides scientific and technical advice on BRSI activities. The members are:

Russ Martin, Co-Chair (Former Mayor of Asheville and Investment Officer, Merrill Lynch & Co.)

David Wallace, Co-Chair (Vice President for Strategic Development, Vanir Energy)

John Ager (Owner, Hickory Gap Nut Farm)

Jim Barton (Director, Smith Mill Creek Permaculture School)

George Briggs (Executive Director, North Carolina Arboretum)

Tom Byers (Western North Carolina Marketing Director, Self-Help Ventures Fund)

Robin Cape (RLCape Consulting)

Carl Donovan (Board Member, Western North Carolina Green Building Council)

Robert Deutsch (Robert J. Deutsch, PA)

Susan Garrett (Green Jobs Director, Asheville Buncombe Community Christian Ministry)

Patti Glazer (Principal, Glazer Architecture)

Neil Gurney (Partner, Integritive)

Scott Hamilton (President and CEO, AdvantageWest Economic Development Group)

Dave Hollister (Owner, Sundance Power Systems)

Betty Huskins (President, Ridgetop Associates)

Jess Ingram (Director of Solar Technologies, FLS Energy)

Janell Kapoor (Co-Founder & Co-Director, Kleiwerks International, Spokesperson, Ashevillage Institute)

Paul Knott (Director, Center of Graduate Studies of Asheville, Lenoir- Ryhne University)

Yuri Koslen (Transit Project Manager, City of Asheville)

Lourdes Lorenz (Director of Integrative Healthcare, Mission Hospitals)

Rob Moody (Founder, EcoBuilders)

Susan Roderick (Executive Director, Quality Forward)

Jeff Schmitt (Professor & Director of Innovation & Entrepreneurship, Wake Forest School of Medicine)

Clarke Snell (Managing Director, The Nauhaus Institute)

Ron Townley (Former Local Government Services Director, Land of Sky Regional Council)

Advisory Council Documents


Solar 101 Coordinator